Disconnected


I realised this the other day as we were called to take stage and enjoy the moments as final years. It would perhaps be our last opportunity. But in the midst of it all I knew that it was not something that I wanted to do. The people on stage were largely a hostile bunch. Reluctantly I climbed up when a friend asked me to. I chatted for a minute and I was back down. People asked me why? I replied I was just not into it. The truth is I was feeling disconnected. When my engineering ends this june, I probably wont miss most of my class mates. Who I’ll probably miss are a bunch of people spread across the college. These have been the people who have shared the same ideals, lived the same experiences and have had fun for the last 3-4 years.

I realise that certain people have changed for the worse and certain others have become distant. There are some that have been misunderstood and some that have hurt me. But I really don’t care about all that. I’m happy with the effort that I put in being part of anything. I may be eccentric and whiny but then also I know certain people appreciate me. My goal to bring about certain awareness in Nitte has been partially successful. Grey matter being the biggest success. I truly hope that someone will carry it forward and guide juniors towards excellence. The unified fest which suddenly looks like a reality will probably happen in the coming years but its success is only limited by the people at its helm. I seriously wish that people become more aware of university culture in the coming years. Another project, The Labyrinth, probably will go online soon.

So looking back on these 4 years, there have been a lot of memories. Aloysius never gave me much of an opportunity to represent them during PUC but Nitte sure gave me a lot. I’ll surely miss the fests that we used to attend, the anticipation and the effort on stage and well, the final glory!

Academically speaking I am an EC illiterate. I can barely remember anything that I have learnt. Decent above average marks dictate a different story. What I have realised is that I’ve become more inclined to modern technologies and computer science.

Oh and for the future of Nitte , there seems to be some hope. The second year teams show promise. I am glad that there are people who can continue what our batch started and perhaps improve on it. For now, the next big thing is VTU fest 2010. What happens next, depends on it.

Author: inosaint

designer. data viz aficionado. evil genius. senior product designer at @practo

8 thoughts on “Disconnected”

  1. Will definitely miss you and many more from your branch. 😦
    And do hope all the efforts you have done in college will continue 🙂

  2. We’ll lead your Dreams in NITTE. We really miss you seniors a lot…
    You are awesome.
    I just love my seniors.
    I know we don’t have someone as creative as you guys. But juniors definitely are.
    We’ll make them shine bright.
    Its a promise.

Leave a Reply

