Design, NID

A brief history of space exploration


I started doing some research on humans and their interaction with Space throughout the ages early in April as part of a freelancing project. Unfortunately we never got it, and the research had to wait till now to become tangible. I had never made a timeline based visualization prior to this and that is why I wanted to give it a try.

The timeline initially included the discoveries of space made by astronomers throughout the ages as well as the space exploration timeline but I ended up ditching the space discovery timeline as I found it too big for this project. Research and early sketches shaped the way this timeline looks like. My limited knowledge of Illustrator made this possible to complete it digitally.

Shown below is the current version of the infographic(Click and zoom to view). I would be glad if I can get some feedback on this. Space-v3.6Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Thanks to Nievu, Rasagy, Hafsah, Parag and Bijoy for their inputs on its initial stages.
I uploaded it to Visually.

Standard

5 thoughts on “A brief history of space exploration

    • Gee Thanks :) I am still just learning and any input would help me build better ones in the future. I shall be working on two more in the coming month. I did some changes to the graphic and have updated it here. Problems that still exist are mainly in the form of Information hierarchy and the Crowding of content.

  1. Looks really good. I like the colors. But, are those red icons significant? If not, they’re a bit distracting. If yes, some of them are not properly linked to the bubble of information they’re related to. Other than this, really good job :)

Leave a Reply

